Knowledge base Rise Up

Settings - Physical & Virtual classrooms

  • Updated

 

To access the settings for Classroom sessions & Virtual classes, click on Settings then Physical and virtual classrooms.

 

This section will only be completed if there is course that includes classroom sessions or virtual classes.

The Activate Course Organization Features will need to be checked.

 

Once the “Activate Course Organization Features” box is checked, the Configuration of classroom session behavior and Facilitator section appears dynamically (see below)

Configuration of classroom session behavior

Most of the checkboxes presented are self-explanatory, so we will not repeat them one by one in this guide.

 

We’ll just focus on the different statuses of classroom sessions, to better understand the effects of the various configuration options.

The different statuses of classroom sessions: pending and approved

When a classroom session is created, by default it will have approved status immediately after being created.

However, the session may not be retained if there are not enough learners registered. In this case, it is better to check the box:

 

Use “pending” status for sessions

Sessions are then created at pending status and are approved in a second step, either by a manual action or an automatic rule.

 

There are 2 automatic rules for approving sessions:

  • Automatically confirm a session if it is ____% filled
    Approval of the session if filled to a certain defined percentage (e.g. My session is planned for 20 learners; if I indicate that it will be approved automatically when 80% filled, the session will change to approved status as soon as the 16th user registers for the session)
  • Automatically approve the classroom session _________ days before
    Approval of the session a specified number of days before the date of the session

The “pending” status enables learners to register for a session while also informing them that the “pending” session might not be retained, making it possible to direct learners to another session that at “approved” status.

Although it is always possible to cancel a session, even a session at “approved” status, managing a “pending” status lets you do so more “elegantly” for learners.

Facilitators

This involves configuring the permissions of session facilitators. These permissions are set globally for the Platform (and are shared by Partner Platforms if Partner Platforms are created).

 

Remember, there are 2 types of “Facilitators” (Facilitator-Role & Facilitator-Attribute):

  • A Facilitator can be someone from outside the company, and in this case will be assigned a role as Facilitator. As someone from outside the Company, they will be able to host the classroom sessions for which they have been appointed, but they will not be entitled to take the course themselves. Thus, they will not be able to take course from their Dashboard, as can any other User (with a Role other than Facilitator)
  • A Facilitator can be someone within the company, and as such, may be able to take course for themselves, by direct access from their Dashboard. In this case, this is not a Facilitator Role, but a Facilitator Attribute, which can be added to a User with a Role other than Facilitator.

The permissions that will be defined here as part of Platform Pre-configuration will be valid for all Facilitators, whether they are Facilitator Role or Facilitator Attribute.

Activate virtual class

If you want to offer virtual classes, you must check the box and specify the type of virtual classroom tool you will be using.

 

 

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Have more questions? Submit a request